Arizona Wildcats Sweet 17 Results: #6 2003 vs. #11 1991

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

This week’s game in the Arizona Wildcats Sweet 17 Tournament pitted the sixth-seeded 2003 team versus the eleventh-seeded 1991 squad. The 2003 Arizona Wildcats, ranked #1 in the AP poll for most of the season, fell in the Elite Eight after a masterful duel between point guard Jason Gardner and Kansas Jayhawks guard Kirk Heinrich. The 1991 Wildcats similarly never left the AP Top 10 the entire season and won a very tough Pac-12 with a 14-4 record.

Let’s breakdown the matchup. Before we look at the fan voting, let’s take a look at the lineups:

#6 2003 Arizona Wildcats vs. #11 1991 Arizona Wildcats

2003 Profile: 28-4 (17-1, 1st in Pac-10, lost Pac-10 tournament quarterfinal); NCAA Tournament #1 seed, lost to #2 Kansas in Elite 8 78-75

Starters: Jason Gardner (SR), Channing Frye (SO), Rick Anderson (SR), Salim Stoudamire (SO), Luke Walton (SR)

Key Bench: Andre Iguodala (FR); Hassan Adams (FR); Isaiah Fox (SO); Dennis Latimore (SO)

1991 Profile: 28-7 (14-4, 1st in Pac-10); NCAA Tournament #2 seed, lost to #3 Seton Hall in Sweet 16 81-77

Starters: Chris Mills (SO), Brian Williams (SR), Sean Rooks (JR), Matt Muehlebach (SR), Matt Othic (JR)

Key Bench: Khalid Reeves (FR), Wayne Womack (JR), Ed Stokes (SO)

Fan Voting


Who would win in a game between the 2003 and 1991 teams?

  • #11 1991 (15%, 2 Votes)
  • #6 2003 (85%, 13 Votes)

Total Voters: 13

Loading ... Loading ...

As you can see, the 2003 team dominated the 1991 team, behind some massive senior leadership, a ridiculous starting lineup, and Jason Gardner’s supreme leadership.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus