UCLA Bruins Become Second Consecutive Pac-12 Team to Go Undefeated in NCAA Tournament and Win the CWS

Jun 25, 2013; Omaha, NE, USA; UCLA Bruins hoist the championship trophy after game 2 of the College World Series finals against the Mississippi State Bulldogs at TD Ameritrade Park. UCLA defeated Mississippi State 8-0. Mandatory Credit: Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

Despite trying to jam pack the college baseball tournament with East Coast teams year after year in what appears to be a desperate effort to pump out yearly East Coast National Champions, the NCAA Committee has failed miserably for the second consecutive year in achieving such slanted results.

The UCLA Bruins went undefeated in this year’s NCAA Tournament, becoming the second consecutive Pac-12 team to go undefeated and win the CWS Championship outright despite being heavily misrepresented. In the CWS, the Bruins went 5-0 against teams from the ACC and SEC and outscored them 19-4. Last year, the Arizona Wildcats had similar results in the CWS, going 4-0 against teams from the ACC and SEC and outscoring them 23-8. This year, the NCAA Committee invited 17 teams from the ACC and SEC and only four teams from the Pac-12 (despite the fact the Pac was ranked the 3rd strongest conference in the nation), and the ratio of last season’s selections were essentially the same. The result of the NCAA’s (East Coast bias) selection practices have led to Championship series that have been lopsided snoozers: Arizona and UCLA went 4-0 against their final opponents (South Carolina and Mississippi State) and outscored them 20-3.

June 25, 2012; Omaha, NE, USA; Arizona Wildcats players lift the trophy after defeating the South Carolina Gamecocks in the championship finals game two of the 2012 College World Series at TD Ameritrade Park. Arizona won 4-1. Mandatory Credit: Bruce Thorson-USA TODAY Sports

A quick look at over a decade of college baseball suggests the NCAA should go back to the drawing board when it comes to tournament selection, and may want to consider giving the West Coast respect where respect is far overdue. Since 2002, only two teams (South Carolina (2) and LSU) have represented the East Coast as college baseball champions. The rest have hailed from the states of Oregon (Oregon State (2)), California (UCLA, Cal State Fullerton, Fresno State), Arizona and Texas (Texas (2), Rice).

Topics: Pac-12 Baseball, UCLA Bruins

Want more from Zona Zealots?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.