Nov 30, 2013; Tempe, AZ, USA; Arizona Wildcats running back Ka

Carey Named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year

Arizona Wildcats running back Ka’deem Carey (Photo by Matt Kartozian/USA TODAY Sports)

Arizona Wildcats junior running back Ka’deem Carey was named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year Monday, becoming the first ever Wildcat to win the award.

Previously, seven Arizona Wildcats have won Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year and one player, wide receiver Mike Thomas, won Pac-12 Freshman Offensive Player of the Year in 2005.

Carey, a Doak Walker Award finalist and Heisman Trophy candidate, has rushed for 1,716 yards and 17 touchdowns in 11 games this season. He is the nation’s second-leading rusher (156.0 yards per game) and is second among active NCAA players with 4,070 career rushing yards. He owns or shares 21 Arizona records, including the all-time rushing yards record, and has recorded 15-straight 100-yard games.

Additionally, six Wildcats were named to the Pac-12 All-Conference Teams. Carey earned first-team honors for the second consecutive season, while linebacker Marquis Flowers, defensive lineman Tevin Hood, wide receiver Nate Phillips, defensive back Jared Tevis and linebacker Scooby Wright were honorable mention selections.

Arizona State defensive lineman Will Sutton was named Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Sun Devils head coach Todd Graham was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year and UCLA linebacker/running back Myles Jack was named both Pac-12 Offensive and Defensive Freshman of the Year.

This comes a week after 13 Wildcats were named to the Pac-12 All-Academic Teams. Linebacker Jake Fischer (3.36, marketing) and Tevis (3.22, finance) garnered first-team honors, while running back Jared Baker (3.25, pre-architecture), Hood (3.46, general studies) and kicker Jake Smith (3.36, economics) were on the second team. Defensive back Jamar Allah, long snapper Brian Chacon, wide receiver Trevor Ermisch, defensive lineman Reggie Gilbert, quarterback Nick Isham, wide receiver Trey Griffey, punter Drew Riggleman and defensive back Yamen Sanders were honorable mention selections.

Next Wildcats Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Oct 2525 Oct3:00at Washington State CougarsBuy Tickets

Tags: Brian Chacon Drew Riggleman Follow Index Jake Fischer Jake Smith Jamar Allah Jared Baker Jared Tevis Ka'deem Carey Marquis Flowers Mike Thomas Myles Jack Nate Phillips Nick Isham Reggie Gilbert Scooby Wright Tevin Hood Todd Graham Trevor Ermisch Trey Griffey Will Sutton Yamen Sanders

comments powered by Disqus