Arizona Basketball: Top 5 Forgotten Teams of the McKale Center Era

3 of 6

Embed from Getty Images

No. 4. 2001-02
The 2001-02 team was the last Arizona squad to win the conference tournament before the 2014-15 Cats got it done during T.J. McConnell‘s senior year.

Luke Walton was named the tournament MOP, and Salim Stoudamire had 29 points in the championship game against USC.

Arizona’s late season surge allowed them to be placed out West in the NCAA Tournament as a No. 3 seed, at the Pit in Albuquerque.

A few seasons earlier, Lute Olson vowed never to come back to the Pit after a controversial late-game clock malfunction cost the Cats the game against the Lobos.

The Lobo fans could not wait to boo Arizona when they were forced to return to the storied arena, but it was sweet revenge for Olson and the Cats as they picked up two wins to advance to the Sweet Sixteen.

Next: No. 3